Local Prayer Groups

“While Centering Prayer” is done privately most of the time, a weekly sharing of the experience in a small group has proven to be very supportive, as well as a means of continuing education.  The weekly meeting also serves as a means of accountability.  Just knowing that one’s support group is meeting together each week is an enormous encouragement to keep going, or an invitation to return to the practice of Centering Prayer if circumstances have prevented one from carrying out one’s commitment to daily practice for a time.  By sharing the experience of Centering Prayer with others, one’s own discernment of the ups and downs of the practice is sharpened.  The group serves as a source of encouragement and can normally solve problems that might arise regarding method.  The collective discernment of the group tends to be well balanced.”
  The Daily Reader for Contemplative Living – Father Thomas Keating 

All Groups welcome new prayer members – please call or email the contact person listed.

If you are interested in forming a new Centering Prayer group – help is available.  Please click “I want to form a new CP Group

The following is a list of active groups in Central and West Michigan:

East Lansing  Thursdays  6:00PM

St John Student Parish
327 M.A.C. Ave
East Lansing, MI 48823
Contact:  Vincent Gebes –      vgebes@comcast.net
517-927-9511

__________

Grand Haven      Wednesdays  6:30PM

St Patrick Catholic Church
Fulton & Route 31
Conference room of church offices
Grand Haven, MI
Contact:  Carol Jones –      cjones616@sbcglobal.net
616-638-4673

___________

Grand Rapids      Tuesdays  5:30PM

Dominican Center at Marywood
Meditation Room
2035 East Fulton St
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Contact:  David Muyskens –   jdmuyskens@sbcglobal.net
616-452-8864

__________

Grand Rapids     Tuesdays 7:00PM

Catholic Information Center
360 Division Ave S
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Contact:  Tom Kartes –     t.kartes@comcast.net
616-942-6695

___________

Kalamazoo          3rdSunday 4:00PM – 5:30PM

St Joseph School Library
936 Lake St
Kalamazoo, MI
Contact:  Jim Carrow –      jim@carow.us

__________

Kalamazoo          Mondays  6:00PM

St Thomas More Catholic Church
421 Monroe Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49006
Contact:  Father Ken Schmidt –    kennith.schmidt@sttomskazoo.org
269-806-0384

__________

Kalamazoo          2nd & 4th Tuesdays  5:30PM

Immanuel Lutheran Church
3000 West Main
Kalamazoo, MI 49006
Contact:  Laura Pitts –       friendsforeverljp@yahoo.com

__________

Kalamazoo          Wednesdays 12:15PM

Transformation Spirituality Center
Unity Chapel
3427 Gull Road
Kalamazoo, MI 49048
Contact:  Christine Parks, CSJ           cparks@csjoseph.org
269-381-6290

__________

Kalamazoo     Mondays 6:00PM

St Andrew Community Church
3631 Covington Rd
Kalamazoo, MI 49001
Contact: Rev Jim Dyke     jimdyke@sbcglobal.net
269-342-5590

__________

Muskegon   (contact for times)

St Paul’s Episcopal Church
1006 3rd Street
Muskegon, MI 49440
Contact:  Linda Reynolds - lindareynolds21@comcast.net
231-744-0377

__________

Niles         Tuesdays  4:30PM – 6:00PM

Wesley United Methodist Church
302 Cedar Street
Niles, MI 49120
Contact:  David Markel – davidrmarkel@comcast.net
269-684-6974

__________

Parchment     Mondays 7:30PM

St Ambrose Catholic Church
1628 East G Avenue
Parchment, MI 49004
Contact:  Father James O’Leary
ambroseparchment@sbcglobal.net
269-343-0099

__________

Portage     Thursdays   11:30AM

Portage United Church in Christ
2731 West Milham Road
Portage, MI 49024
Contact:   office@portageucc.org
269-327-3114

__________

Ravenna               Fridays  10:30AM

St Catherines Catholic Church
Ravenna, MI 49451
Contact:  Dolores Swanson  -  swansonpickle@yahoo.com
231-853-6794

__________

South Haven      (contact for times)

Church of the Epiphany
410 Erie Street
South Haven, MI 49090
269-637-2521

__________

Traverse City      Wednesdays  11:00AM

Grace Episcopal Church
341 Washington St
Traverse City, MI 49684
Contact:  Marilyn Dressel –      m.dressel@att.net
231-929-2575